rus | eng
  • Abkhazia
  • Tourist Routes
  • Map of Abkhazia
  • Photos
  • Tourist Information
  • Active rest
  • Ecotourism
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Articles
  • Adventure Travel
  • Housing bureaus

    Private sector

    You have arrived to Abkhazia like a free - wheeling holidaymaker...

    Tourist information

    Passport If you want to enter Abkhazia via Russia you should have Russian... detail...


    accomodation List of hotels where English speaking administrator will... detail...

    Tourist routes

    Tsebelda Valley

    The Military-Sukhum road, historically known as the Misimiyanskaya...

    Adventure travel

    Valley of Seven Lakes

    This fairly simple walking route runs from Pyv (Anchkhou, Chkhy)...


    The Sukhum Waterfront

    The heart of Sukhum is its waterfront. Before the Revolution it was...

    Tourist places

    Pitsunda Cathedral

    The cathedral, consecrated in the name of St. Andrew...



    If you want to contact us, you may write a letter ...



    DesktopsPhotos of the most beautiful sceneries of Abkhazia

    In the Abkhazian language, Abkhazia is Apsny, meaning Land of the Soul. Our country lies on land that is bounded by the mountains of the Main Caucasus mountain range in the north and by the Black Sea in the south. In the west, Abkhazian border lies along the Psou River, with Russian Federation on the other bank, and in the east, Inguri River separates it from Georgia. Sukhum is the capital (called Akua in Abkhaz).

    The Country
    Overall area is 8665 km. sq, stretching over 170 km long from east to west, and 65 km from north to south. Abkhazian borders stretch over approximately 600 km, of which 390 km is on land, and 210 km are water boundaries.
    Abkhazia is subdivided into seven administrative districts: Gagra, Gudauta, Sukhum, Gulripsh, Ochamchira, Tkuarchal, and Gal.

    The Time

    Abkhazia is in the same time zone as Moscow, and switches to and from daylight savings time.

    The Population
    Abkhazia's overall population totals approximately 300,000 people. Ethnic Abkhaz have lived on the territory of modern-day Abkhazia for more than 2500 years. The overwhelming majority of religious Abkhaz are Christians, with insignificant fractions of the population adhering to Islam and Catholicism. There are 25 other ethnicities living in Abkhazia alongside ethnic Abkhaz.
    State language is Abkhazian; Russian is recognized as the interethnic means of communication.
    The state is headed by the President, who is elected to a 5-year term. The Parliament, i.e. Popular Assembly of the Republic of Abkhazia, wields legislative power. It consists of 35 members, elected to 5-year terms. The Prime Minister heads the executive branch of government.

    State Symbols
    The national flag of the Republic of Abkhazia consists of alternating green and white stripes: four green and three white stripes symbolize the peaceful coexistence of Muslims and Christians. In the top left corner, enclosed in a red rectangle, is an open palm, symbolizing openness and friendliness. It is surrounded by seven stars.
    Abkhazia's coat-of-arms is a shield divided vertically into two halves colored white and green, with green symbolizing youth and life, and white symbolizing spirituality. The contour of the National Emblem and an episode composition is goldish. In the lower part of the shield, there is an eight-point star. In the top part, against the white and green background, are two more symmetrically placed eight-point stars. In the center of the shield is a horseman, the Nart Sasrykva, a protagonist in the Abkhaz Nart sagas. He is galloping on his magic steed, Arash, and pointing his bow and arrow toward the stars.